Retailer guide

Deductions compared across major retailers

How eight retailers differ on where to dispute, how long you have, and which documents each guide names.

Where to dispute and how long you have

Channels and clocks vary by retailer. Windows start from different events, so compare the start as well as the length.

STARTS FROMLENGTHDollar GeneralShort-paid invoicewaived by the vendor if the dispute isunresolved, or sent, after 90 daysPayment90 daysPost auditThe payment it appeared onWithin 90 daysVendor performancenot looked into or repaid once olderNot statedSix monthsBurlingtonShortage disputesCheck remittanceWithin 6 monthsMacy'sMacy'sThe deduction date60 daysReturn claimsshortages, damages, non-deliveryThe financial deductionWithin 90 daysBeallsExpense offsetcorrespondence must startThe expense offset check dateWithin 6 monthsKrogerAdvice messageson check stubs (legacy path)Issuance180 daysLavante billing inquiriesmust be resolvedThe original invoice dateWithin 180 daysWindows start from different events, so compare the start as well as the length.

Scroll sideways

Dispute windows by retailer: the start event, then the length.
Where disputes go and the dispute window, by retailer.
RetailerWhere disputes goDispute window
Dollar GeneralEmail, to the team for the deduction type.Short-paid invoice: waived by the vendor if the dispute is unresolved, or sent, more than 90 days after payment. Post audit: within 90 days after the payment it appeared on. Vendor performance: not looked into or repaid once older than six months.
BurlingtonShortage disputes: email to Vendor.Relations@Burlington.com.Shortage disputes: within 6 months of check remittance.
Macy'smacysnet AP Forms, for Macy's and Macy's Backstage.Macy's: 60 days from the deduction date. Macy's return claims (shortages, damages, non-delivery): within 90 days of the financial deduction. Macy's Backstage: the 2023 Vendor Standards do not apply, except where the Backstage Vendor Standards say so.
BeallsCorrespondence on an expense offset must start within 6 months of the expense offset check date.
KrogerLavante, for billing inquiries and debit memos.180 days from issuance for advice messages on check stubs (legacy path). Lavante billing inquiries must be resolved within 180 days of the original invoice date.

Kohl's, TJX and Ross Stores: our guides do not state a dispute window or a channel. See each guide. A blank cell means our guide does not state it.

Proof each guide names

This lists documents the guides name. It does not promise a dispute wins.

Bill ofladingInvoiceEDI 856ASNPOProof ofdeliveryDollar GeneralKohl'sBurlingtonMacy'sBeallsKrogerTJXRoss StoresNamed in the guideBlank: not named in our guide, never "not required".Other documents each guide names are in the table. TJX: our guide names the chargeback, mailed with the physical check.
Documents each guide names, by retailer.
Documents each retailer guide names.
RetailerDocuments the guide names
Dollar GeneralShort-paid invoice: the invoice, plus a bill of lading carrying the DC stamp and case counts (prepaid) or signed by Dollar General's carrier (collect).
Kohl'sThe bill of lading, naming the carrier and its SCAC. The EDI 856 ASN, with the bill of lading number and the SCAC. For an accessorial chargeback: the BOL with the appointment time, time in, time out and the driver's signature.
BurlingtonA filled-out Shortage Dispute Form and backup documents. Proof of delivery: a BOL signed or stamped by Burlington receivers.
Macy'sInvoice shortage or non-payment: an invoice copy and proof of delivery with the full street address. Expense offset: the offset image from macysnet, if there is one. Return claim: one bill of lading per inquiry.
BeallsThe PO and the invoice. The bill of lading signed by the driver. The PO's shipping window. The 856 ASN. The load confirmation email.
KrogerBuyer exception email, appointment confirmation, proof of delivery, PO, bill of lading, and on-time rate.
TJXThe chargeback, mailed with the physical check. Our guide's wider evidence list is general dispute practice, not a TJX requirement.
Ross StoresThe bill of lading showing the Ross BOL Number, and the email that gives that number once a carrier is assigned. Our guide's wider evidence list is general dispute practice, not a Ross requirement.

What each guide covers

The Deduction Code Library lists codes by retailer. "Blank" means our guide has no section on it.

Deduction types each retailer guide covers.
RetailerShortagePrice or costCompliance or routingReturnsOther
Dollar GeneralShort-paid invoice.Short-paid invoice.Vendor performance chargebacks.Post audit claims.
Kohl'sRouting and carrier charges.
BurlingtonDMQ; concealed shortage.DMC.R prefix: received short, recall, RTV, or buyer's request.AN, CR, LH, MD, and PMDSE prefixes.
Macy'sInvoice shortage or non-payment.Cost difference or markdown allowance.Expense offsets.Return shortage, damage, or non-delivery.
BeallsCodes 901, 902, 904.Code 903.Transportation, carton marking, PO compliance, EDI.
KrogerORAD, appointment, and Fred Meyer timing fees.Returns and RTV.Allowances and reclamation.

TJX and Ross Stores: our guides state no deduction-type list. See each guide.

ShortagePriceor costComplianceor routingReturnsOtherDollar GeneralKohl'sBurlingtonMacy'sBeallsKrogerDot: our guide has a section on it.Blank: our guide has no section on it.TJX and Ross Stores: our guides state no deduction-type list. See each guide.
Deduction types each guide covers, by retailer.

Sources and editions

A blank cell or a "not stated" line means our guide does not state it, not that the retailer has no rule.

TJXTJXVendors.com User Guide, Vendor Self Service (last printed April 2006)Kohl'sRouting Guide (2019)2023 Vendor StandardsMacy'sRoss domestic routing guide (September 2024)Ross StoresVNC Program Updates and Appendix A (2 December 2024)KrogerAP contact matrix (June 2025)Macy'sVendor Onboarding Instructions (November 2025)Macy'sDomestic Vendor Guide (April 2026)Dollar GeneralDomestic Vendor Partnership Manual (May 2026)BurlingtonChargeback Policy; Domestic Routing Guide (last updated June 9, 2026)Bealls200620192023202420252026

Scroll sideways

Source documents by edition date.
Source document and edition behind each retailer guide.
RetailerSource and edition
Dollar GeneralDollar General Domestic Vendor Guide (April 2026).
Kohl'sKohl's Routing Guide (2019).
BurlingtonDomestic Vendor Partnership Manual (May 2026).
Macy's2023 Vendor Standards; AP contact matrix (June 2025); Vendor Onboarding Instructions (November 2025).
BeallsChargeback Policy; Domestic Routing Guide (last updated June 9, 2026).
KrogerVNC Program Updates and Appendix A (2 December 2024).
TJXTJXVendors.com User Guide, Vendor Self Service (last printed April 2006).
Ross StoresRoss domestic routing guide (September 2024).

Next steps

Each deduction is matched to the documents that answer it. The dispute is then prepared for review.

FAQ

What does a blank cell or "not stated" mean?

Our guide does not state it, which does not mean the retailer has no rule. Retailers update documents, so check the current edition before filing.

How old are the sources?

Each row's source and edition is in the Sources and editions table, from TJX (Vendor Self Service guide, last printed April 2006) to Bealls (Domestic Routing Guide, last updated June 9, 2026).